Sordid Stories From A Former Life

With this whole Kim Davis (the county clerk in Kentucky who refuses to issue marriage licenses despite a supreme court order) situation being in full swing, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to enlighten the viewing public on her version of christianity.  I, myself, was raised in her particular version of christianity, oneness pentecostalism.  When I was old enough to leave home and do things for myself, I became a member at a church which belongs to the same denomination that Kim Davis currently belongs to.  I think I have an understanding of her and her church’s mindset, since I was raised in it and fully bought in to it until my mid thirties.

The following are true occurrences from the United Pentecostal Church (UPC) that I attended, and still have a few contacts with, mostly through my wife, who has occasional friends who still attend there.

The pastor of the church has two daughters, daughter 1 and Carla.  Daughter 1 is married to son in law 1, who is the brother of Patrick.  Patrick used to be married to Carla.  They were married when Carla was still in high school by the pastor’s mother, who was the former pastor of the church.  Her words, upon the announcement of this marriage were, “It’s better to marry than to burn.”

After giving birth to a son and enjoying a few years of wedded bliss, Patrick and Carla divorced and Patrick left the church for a little while to regain his composure, or whatever.  Eventually he returned and got involved once again in the church.  A while later, Patrick married Wendy, who is the daughter of Judy.  Judy is the second cousin or some close relation of the pastor’s mother, so there is a family connection there.  So Patrick and Wendy get married and Wendy gets pregnant.  Shortly after Wendy gets pregnant, she finds out that Patrick was having an affair with a coworker, who ends up pregnant as well.  They get divorced.  So now Patrick has three sons from three different mothers, and two of the sons are within a month or so of each other.

All while this is happening, the pastor’s personal assistant and the official church decorator, Donna, decides to divorce her husband, who is also a faithful member of the church.  I’m not sure of the details, but the rumors are that they hadn’t been happy for years and were waiting for both of their kids to grow up and leave home before they split.

I have no real evidence of this, but it’s my opinion that the pastor and Donna might have been/currently are having an affair.  One night (several years ago) at a youth function in the gym, I was showing a guy from another church around the facility.  He asked to see the sanctuary of the church, so I took him through the back door to the platform.  The pastor was sitting at the piano, playing softly, while Donna was sitting on the piano bench by his side with her stocking feet up on the bench and her arms curled around her legs.  The lights in the sanctuary were low.  As soon as I walked in, I felt like I had invaded a special moment.  I let the guy look around and quickly ushered him out.

Donna was still married to Mark at the time.  It wasn’t until after I left the church that they divorced.  I don’t know the current situation with Donna, except that she is still a very central figure to the happenings at the church.  However, I do know about her husband, Mark.

After the divorce, Mark married Kerri.  Kerri had previously been married to Brian, who has been the bass guitar player for the church since before I was going there.  Brian apparently had some alcoholic issues so he and Kerri divorced, then remarried, then divorced again.  And now Kerri is married to Mark.

Brian, meanwhile married Alisha, who is the brother of one of the former ministers in the church, Chris.  Chris, who had been married to his wife since they were young and in love, recently divorced his wife and went off and married some “tattooed, pierced floozie”, as one of my wife’s friends called her.

Back to Patrick and son in law 1-  Their dad, or step dad, or whatever he is, several years ago indecently exposed himself to some kids and was sent to prison for several years and is now a registered sex offender.  I recently went to a party held at Judy’s house in honor of Wendy’s son.  Patrick and son in law’s dad was there and everyone just treated him like he was part of the family; no worries about the kids or anything whatsoever.

The weirdest part of this whole situation is that ALL of them refuse to find another church.  They all insist on continuing to go faithfully every Sunday and Wednesday to sit near their former spouses, etc. and hear “the word of god” as preached by a pastor who claims that none of the other churches in town have “the truth”.  I recall once in a sermon he said something to the effect of: “If you want to hear preaching that makes you feel good about your sin, go to the church down the street.  But if you want the truth, and to make it to heaven, you have to stay in the boat.”  And by boat, he meant his church.

If this is not the definition of a cult, I don’t know what is!

That is my experience with the kind of church Kim Davis attends.  Now you know what she means when she says that she’s an “apostolic” christian.  I’m not saying this goes on in every UPC/ apostolic church, but if the one I attended is any indication, there’s a good chance that it does.  No wonder Kim Davis has been divorced three times, yet still, in defiance of the supreme court, refuses to issue marriage licenses to those who she disagrees with because her pastor taught her to disagree with them.

Such a strange situation all around.

4 thoughts on “Sordid Stories From A Former Life

  1. From someone (me) who grew up in the same denomination but left: This is an unfair post. Our sister has done what many in this country would not do- knowingly risked going to jail. Your post has nothing to do with her or the situation. At all. Each person must stand before God separately, and she is her own person. She is not any of those people you mentioned.
    I’ve had pastors growing up who loved their wives. And were great examples. And yes , I saw the other side too. While I am not in agreement with all the teachings, God has people there that LOVE Him, and Kim is an example. i have friends in that denomination who are absolutely in love with Jesus, serve people, and one of those friends, her and her hubby are so in love and those around can see the realness of it. They are not newlyweds. And I lived with them and saw it firsthand. Not fair or right to condemn Kim based on her church affiliation. I’ve seen the good, the bad, and the ugly, and yet I refuse to judge her. If she has some wrong beliefs, who doesn’t? If the church has mess in it, tell me one denomination that doesn’t. We need to see this through our Fathers eyes.

    • Joyce, I don’t think this is an unfair post, or I would not have posted it. Obviously, the post has nothing to do with her situation or her, except that her situation reminded me of the apostolic mindset. I even said that in the post. I said it was about her church denomination. I even said at the end that this type of thing may or may not be going on at her church. I’m not saying that there aren’t “good” people in the UPC/ oneness pentecostalism, I’m just saying that they can’t see out of the hole of their religioius mindset to see what the rest of the world sees from outside the hole.
      I will go a step further and say that I will make a judgement call about her. She broke the law. I know, I know… This isn’t a law in the books, but it is, now, case law. Case law holds up just as well as statutory law, and Kim Davis refused to follow it. Hence, she broke the law. She is in the wrong. If she refuses to obey the rule of law, maybe she deserves to go to jail.
      Finally, I also agree with you that there aren’t any denominations that don’t have wrong beliefs and mess. They’re all messed up, some more than others.
      As far as “our Father’s eyes”, check out the rest of my posts for my opinion on that.
      Thanks for the comment. All the best!

Leave a Reply

