The Butter Battle Dilemma Solved!

Dr. Seuss’ The Butter Battle Book is a metaphor for the Cold War.  The story is about two civilizations living on opposite sides of a wall who are identical except for the fact that the Yooks eat their bread with the butter side up and the Zooks eat their bread with the butter side down.

I took the day off from work today to take care of some things, and as is my usual fashion when not going to work, I stopped at the Waffle House for breakfast.  When they brought me my order over easy with sausage, hash browns, and raisin toast, I started eating.  When I picked up my toast, the Butter Battle Book flashed in my mind.  “They’ve figured it out!”, I thought.

You see, When Waffle house makes toast, they take it out of the toaster, and while still nice and hot they slather on some butter and put the butter sides facing each other.  So essentially, it’s a butter sandwich.  Then when you pick up the first piece of toast the butter side is down, and for the second piece the butter side is up.

So, I think if the Yooks and Zooks had a Waffle House right on the wall dividing them they might have been able to come together and break bread without argument over who is right and who is wrong.

Or maybe they would have remained closed minded they way so many of us are and turned their angst against the Libertarians at the Waffle House.

Leave a Reply

